CELLAR SECRETS

PRECISION & OUR SIGNATURE
Grive BLANC 2020.png
test 1.png
Grive BLANC 2020.png

CELLAR SECRETS

PRECISION & OUR SIGNATURE
THE VAT ROOM

Our vat room contains fifty-eight stainless steel vats of which the biggest are of 172 or 204 hectolitre capacity. They contain the freshly-harvested grapes to begin the fermentation process.

 

In the vats, the grapes, sorted plot by plot and by variety, are transformed from grape juice into wine. Precise control of temperature allows our cellar-master to keep an eye on the fermentations and thus optimize the expression of our terroir.

_DSC1053.jpg
CTG_9544.jpg
THE BARREL-CELLAR

Silence reigns in the barrel-cellar and the cocktail of aromas is everywhere. We must be patient and allow nature to take her course. In fact 9 months in the barrel are required for our Graves white, and 12 to 18 months for our Graves reds.

 

The oak for the barrels is supplied by the best forests in France. We insist upon working with six different cooperage partners. The diversity in the origins of the wood renders ageing more complex but allows us to adapt the characteristics of each oak to different grape varieties. Our sole objective is to make a wine that ressembles us: gourmet and generous.

BLENDING

Blending different wines is the magic of the winemaker's art. It is a discipline that requires rigour and concentration. Tasting allows us to determine the characteristics of each batch and attribute an identity or a quality which could be beneficial to a finished product.

 

We decide upon our blends at different stages in the vinification and ageing processes, but the most important blending is the final association. The smooth, rich, and silky batches will adore those with more pronounced tannins or with a higher degree of acidity. One make of barrel will construct more up-front flavour, another will favour length on the palate, etc. What is certain is that the wine is always enhanced after blending.

DBRD_140619_867.jpg

SECRETS DE CHAI

PRÉCISION & SIGNATURE
Grive BLANC 2020.png
test 1.png
Grive BLANC 2020.png

SECRETS DE CHAI

PRÉCISION & SIGNATURE
LE CUVIER
Notre cuvier compte cinquante-huit cuves en inox de 172hl ou de 204 hl pour les plus imposantes. Elles hébergent nos raisins fraîchement vendangés, pour démarrer le processus de fermentation.
 
Cépage par cépage, parcelle par parcelle, nos cuves accompagnent notre jus de raisin dans sa transformation pour devenir vin. Leur thermorégulation permet à notre maître de chai de garder la main sur les fermentations et ainsi développer l'expression exacte de notre terroir. 
_DSC1053.jpg
CTG_9544.jpg
LE CHAI À BARRIQUES
Le silence y règne et les parfums y sont multiples. Il faudra faire preuve de patience et laisser le temps agir… En l'occurrence : 9 mois d'élevage en barriques pour notre Graves blanc et 12 à 18 mois pour nos Graves rouges.
Les chênes utilisés proviennent tous des plus belles forêts françaises. Nous avons à cœur de travailler en collaboration avec six tonneliers partenaires. La diversité des origines des bois vient complexifier l’élevage et s’adapter aux caractères de nos différents cépages. Notre objectif unique ? Créer un vin qui nous ressemble : gourmand et généreux. 
L'ASSEMBLAGE
L’assemblage est notre alchimie à nous les vignerons, c’est une discipline qui demande beaucoup de rigueur et de concentration. La dégustation nous permet de déterminer les caractères de chacun des lots et de leur attribuer une place, une identité, ou encore une qualité qui pourrait bénéficier à l’ensemble. 
 
Nous assemblons à différents moments de notre processus de vinification et d’élevage, mais le moment le plus important, c’est bien notre association finale. Les lots ronds, denses et soyeux aimeront à se frotter aux lots montrant des tannins plus prononcés ou une acidité plus importante. Un type de tonnelier viendra construire la structure dans les joues, un second la longueur en bouche… Ce qui est certain, c’est que tout est toujours meilleur une fois assemblé.
DBRD_140619_867.jpg